Why I Teach

I’m on a train back to Manchester having completed three days of teaching on a Postgraduate Certificate in Academic Practice course involving Fashion Design, Fashion Styling, Fashion Business and Product Design lecturer-practitioners from London, Paris and Milan. All of them had facilitated a 15 minute micro teaching session on a subject of their choice:

I learnt the difference between set in, kimono and raglan sleeves
I learnt about plagiarism issues in Fashion Design
I learnt about the Italian way of combining spaghetti with tomato sauce (it does n’t include garlic!)
I learnt about the communicative power of fashion branding
I learnt about the influence of the textile market on fashion trends
I learnt about the three basic principles of photography
I learnt about the importance of creating a mood board in fashion design
I learnt more about each of my students……

This is why I teach!

Leave a comment